Where I’ve Been…and a Bit of Good News

Well, I’ve been getting ready to do this. I dare you not to sing along! (This is for you, M3!)

So, we are actually moving to the East Side this weekend! I’ve been packing and all that good stuff, and posting will be sporadic for a little while.

The past several days have been rather scary and depressing. The economy is most likely not going to be fixed by the so-called “centrist” (i.e., Republican/Libertarian) stimulus package. Meanwhile, BothWays Barack decided he agreed with Bush on executive privilege, and may be planning to use that whole “computerizing medical records” thing as a backdoor way to implement Aschroft’s Orwellian “Total Information Awareness” program without the knowledge and/or approval of Congress. (I SO have a play in me about this, but I just don’t know if I’ll have the time!)

But I’m trying to keep my pledge to go to my happy place. So what if I’m going to be thrown in a dissenter’s prison in a few years? Might as well have a smile on my face when I’m being carted off! So here’s a bit of good news:

The stimulus package contains enough aid to New York to stave off a lot of the more draconian cuts to education and health care that our Mayor and Governor were considering. This is really good news for us Noo Yawkaz, considering that after 9/11 we were promised billions by Bush and the money either never arrived, or ended up in the pockets of, wait for it, wait for it – Big Business! Bottom line is, my state and city have been suffering for almost eight years now and we deserve some relief.

The other good news is from overseas. The Welsh National Assembly is proving that the 30% Solution works in real-time. Check out the details here.

In the meantime, take deep breaths and put your money in your mattress or roll it over to a bank like ING Direct. The stock market isn’t going to be a good place to hang out for at least two or three years, IMHO.

See you after the move….

One response to “Where I’ve Been…and a Bit of Good News

  1. YEAH!!!
    Best Wishes in the Move!!