We Still Have a Dream…

Michael Evans-The New York Times

Photo: Michael Evans-The New York Times

and we miss you, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. May you be smiling tomorrow, as a part of your dream comes true with the inauguration of America’s first black President.

At The New Agenda, Anna Belle has a different take on the amazing legacy of this fierce fighter for civil rights, peace and economic justice: What Every Woman Should Know About Coretta Scott King (And Josephine Baker). Here is a great quote from Dr. King on his wife’s influence:

I think at many points she educated me. When I met her, she was very concerned about all of the things that we are trying to do now. I never will forget that the first discussion that we had when we met was the whole question of racial injustice and economic injustice and the question of peace. And in her college days, she had been actively engaged in movements dealing with these problems. So that I must admit, I wish I could say, and satisfy my masculine ego, that I led her down this path. But I must say we went down together.

They say that behind every great man is a great woman. But Coretta Scott King was not behind Martin; she was beside him. We owe both of them such a debt of gratitude, and perhaps one day their dreams will be fully realized.

I Have a Dream

One response to “We Still Have a Dream…

  1. Thanks, MadamaB – good point, well made. What we have witnessed is not what Rev. King had in mind. 😦