Purty Christmas Music – Enjoy!

I’m not a Christian, but I LOVE Christmas music. So, as my holiday gift to you, here are some of my favorites:

O Holy Night“, sung by Dame Joan Sutherland (yes, that is a high “D” at the end! You go girl!)

“Hallelujah Chorus” from Handel’s Messiah, conducted by Robert Shaw

Riu Riu Chiu“, Christmas Carol, performed by Capella Gloriana

It Came Upon A Midnight Clear,” performed by Ella Fitzgerald

and of course:

White Christmas,” performed by Bing Crosby (and written by nice Jewish boy Irving Berlin)

May your days be merry and bright!

One response to “Purty Christmas Music – Enjoy!

  1. I’m nominally Christian still, but because of personal circumstances, Christmas would be a major source of depression if I let it. I figure it’s a good excuse for work parties and days off, and to dress a little more colorfully than otherwise. I also appreciate is the music. Thanks for sharing.

    Wish I could magically send you the two custom CDs I compiled, a mix of novelty songs, secular tunes and religious carols — everthing from the Dr. Demento cut “I Saw Daddy Kissing Santa Claus” to Gladys Knight & the Pips doing “Silent Night.” Maybe for next year I can get your meat space address and send them.

    Did what holiday family visits I have last Sunday, so I’m by myself this Christmas Day, trying to stay warm and snug in the weird Michigan winter weather. I got calls today and yesterday, and have another to make, so I’ll share some holiday greetings.

    A day of peace and joy to you and all who lurk here, whatever holidays you may celebrate.