Happy Birthday To Me!

I Iz Not Getting Younger? Oh Noes!!!

I Iz Not Getting Younger? Oh Noes!!!

 Well, happy 41st birthday to me! I just learned that the first murder in New York City (where I am) took place on this date in 1609. Um, woo-hoo?!

Anyway, please send me good thoughts, since my Dad is in the hospital 3000 miles away. I think he’s okay but we won’t know for sure till all the tests are done this afternoon.

UPDATE: Thanks for all the kind wishes! Dad is okay! Now I can have a happy birthday. 🙂

19 responses to “Happy Birthday To Me!

  1. Happy Birthday! And sending good thoughts to you and your Dad.

  2. Thank you, bluelyon! 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday wishes to you!

  4. Happy birthday, you young whippersnapper! [waves cane] And get off my lawn!

    There, do you feel younger now?

    Actually, we’re a full Chinese zodiac cyle apart, which makes you another sheep/goat. That accounts for your wonderfully creative playlets.

    Good thoughts to you on your dad. Family illnesses are even harder to deal with when you can’t be close by. Hopefully whatever problem he has can be dealt with and he’ll be with you and healthy for many years to come!

  5. Grail Guardian

    Best wishes on your B-day, and I’m sending out lots of warm, fuzzy thoughts to your Dad. I know what the waiting is like; my mother recently had surgery where they unexpectedly found cancer, and we’re still waiting to hear whether or not the surgeon got it all. But she is close at hand, so it’s not quite so rough.

    Humor makes the waiting easier, and I’m sure you’ll be quite adept at keeping him distracted!

  6. CognitiveDissonance

    Madamab, a very happy birthday to you, our aspiring playwright! And don’t worry – you’re still a young puppy. 🙂

  7. Oh my gosh, I just delurked at Confluence and left you a birthday greeting, then I came here. Guess I should have waited to delurk.
    We share the same birth date, but you are the Year of the Sheep in the chinese calendar:
    “Those born in the Year of the Sheep are said to be charming, elegant and artistic, who like material comforts. A bit of a worrier they also have a tendency to complain about things. Jobs as actors, gardeners or beachcombers would suit.

    Famous people born in the Year Of The Sheep:
    Gene Hackman, Mikhail Gorbachev, Leonard Nimoy, Prunella Scales,John Major, George Harrison”
    It seems rather appropriate, don’t you think? Charming, elegant, artistic…yes, that fits. BTW, if you don’t know who Prunella Scales is, she’s one special actress in Britain. Been in show business for goodness knows how many years, and is still going strong – a true dynamo – somewhat like you.

    I, on the other hand am year of the OX.
    Happy birthday to you (and me) and I hope your Dad fully recovers soon and remains healthy for many years to come.

    Back to Lurkerville.

  8. A most Happy Birthday to you madamab! Our thoughts are with your Dad and you. May he turn out fine!

  9. A very happy birthday to madamab!!! You have been an inspiration to many PUMAs

    I will pray for you and your Dad, I know how hard it is to have your parents ill and many miles away. Please we aware that hospitals are dangerous places for older adults, even young ones. It is very helpful to have an advocate for them no matter how good the hospital is.

  10. As a fellow New Yorker (well, the Bronx by way of NJ) who recently suffered thru…I mean celebrated…his 50th birthday, congrats on getting older (considering the alternative). (Why yes, I am known as “the life of the party.” Why do you ask?)

  11. Happy happy birthday, Madam. And many happy returns.

  12. Happy birthday and best of luck! I hope your blog will be around long enough to wish you many, many more happy birthdays.

  13. HAPPY BIRTHDAY !!!!!Many Many Blessings !

  14. Just popped back, but while sleeping, I remembered a song I used to play annually, on my birthday of course. It’s a ditty Rod McKuen wrote, and Glenn Yarborough sang, many many years ago. Anyhow:

    Happy Birthday to Me

    Happy birthday to me I’m older, you see
    and there are still some things I don’t know.
    Like why does it take a birthday to make
    you wonder how little you know.

    I’ve played ‘Kick the Can’ and ‘Hide and Go Seek’
    ‘Run Sheep Run’ and the lot. Hearts and Flowers’
    by the hours play ‘em and what have you got ?

    Happy birthday to me I’m older you see
    but there are still some things I don’t know.
    Like why when you give all you’ve got you can give
    do people get frightened… and go.

    Off and running as though in a race
    afraid to laugh or cry gone to wherever
    seldom if ever stopping to tell you goodbye.

    Happy birthday to me. Happy birthday to me.
    I’ve read all the books that I own
    but none of them say why it takes a birthday
    to show you how little you’ve grown.

    Words and music by Rod McKuen ©1968 by Stanyan Music

  15. Thanks, everyone. I’m overwhelmed! 🙂

    Review of “Hamlet 2” coming soon.

  16. republican in seattle

    Happy Birthday to my favorite PUMA of the moment. 😉

  17. The forty-second year is one of great power. You have done amazing things, yet your greatest triumphs lie ahead.

    Love, hope and peace to all. Blog on.

  18. yes
    happy birthday and many more

  19. Happy Birthday!