The Democratic Convention, Day 2: Non-Transferable

Note: Please see The Confluence for exciting PUMA updates all day long. Riverdaughter and other Conflucians will be live-blogging from Denver! And click here for a video of Hillary’s historic speech last night.

Last night, Mark Warner, not Hillary Clinton, delivered the keynote address. It’s hard to remember that, given that the night was All About Hillary!!!111!!! But I actually did listen to some of Warner’s speech, and it told me all I need to know about last night’s theme. It was supposed to be “Renewing America’s Promise,” but it was, in reality, “Non-Transferable.”

Mark Warner, from all reports, was a very good, and popular, Governor of Virginia. (His successor, Tim Kaine, who was thisclose to being Obama’s VP pick? Not so much.) He is almost assuredly going to be the next Senator from Virginia as well, meaning that in 2008 Virginia will have a Democratic Governor and two Democratic Senators, in large part due to the accomplishments of Mr. Warner himself.

As I listened to this very successful Democrat speaking, I was proud of all he had been able to do for Virginia. But it made me wonder – how does this relate to Barack Obama? Where is the list of everything he has done for Illinois? For his country? In a laughable bit of verbal slight-of-hand, Governor Warner would say “And so does Barack Obama” every few minutes, to make it seem that somehow, some way, Senator Obama was just as accomplished as he is.

But it didn’t work, because accomplishments are non-transferable.

Two Future Presidents

Two Future Presidents


When Hillary first walked onto the Convention floor, my heart was ripped in half. I could not contain my tears. It was almost too painful to watch this amazing woman stride onto that stage, as her husband and daughter looked on so proudly; this woman who, through the machinations of a Chicago thug and his DNC enablers, has been denied the nomination that 18 million Americans wanted her to have. How could she stand it? How could she live up to the challenge of this moment? A lesser human being would have quailed before this task, especially after having unexpectedly and tragically lost two dear friends (Bill Gwatney and Stephanie Tubbs Jones) within the last two weeks.

But Hillary is Hillary, and what she did last night was incredible. She defined herself as the ultimate FDR Democrat, she supported Senator Obama, she made a strong case against McCain without demonizing him, and she gave shout-outs to PUMAs by directly quoting Riverdaughter’s astonishing post from November of last year (“The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pantsuit“) and saying the following: 

My mother was born before women could vote, my daughter got to vote for her mother for President. This is the story of America, of women and men who defy the odds and never give up.

So how do we give this country back to them? By following the example of a brave New Yorker, a woman who risked her lives to bring slaves to freedom along the underground railroad.

On that path to freedom, Harriet Tubman had one piece of advice:

‘If you hear the dogs, keep going. If you see the torches in the woods, keep going. If they’re shouting after you, keep going. Don’t ever stop, keep going. If you want a taste of freedom, keep going.’

And even in the darkest moments. That is what Americans have done. We have found the faith to keep going.

Pat Buchanan, bloviating on MSNBC last night, stated that our love for Hillary was “non-transferable.” But why do we love her so? Hillary had, once again, reminded us of the reason: It’s because of her 35 years of unwavering commitment to the Democratic Party platform in the face of overwhelming Party resistance and 16 years of the most vicious right-wing assaults imaginable. Hillary’s adherence to principle is inspiring, and her strength is unassailable.

Yet, despite our love and support for this extraordinary, dedicated Democrat, she will not convince us to vote for Senator Obama, because principles are non-transferable.

The Democratic Party, despite the struggling factions beneath its Big Tent, has, in my lifetime at least, always nominated qualified, accomplished, traditional Democrats to the Presidency. That is why I have always voted Democratic without question.

But this year, they are refusing to do the right thing, to take the only winning course in November. They are handing the nomination to an unqualified, unaccomplished junior Senator who has spent his entire life making people see him as they want to see him, while giving few hints of the real agenda behind the charming persona. That Senator is not deserving of my vote, which, thanks to the shocks and bruises and awakenings of this incredible primary season, I have finally realized is mine to give, and mine to take away.

This year, my vote…is non-transferable.

PUMA!

29 responses to “The Democratic Convention, Day 2: Non-Transferable

  1. Great post Madamab! I’m still in shock. Didn’t get to see Hill’s speech last night just the clips so I’m greatfull for the link!

    CQ

  2. Note to sweeties: I’m voting for McKinney.

    Buh-bye now.

  3. I cried like a baby! She is one in a million! I still won’t vote for Barky though. I will vote my concience.

    CQ

  4. Shorter Madamab

    Just because I voted for Nader in 2000 doesn’t mean I bear any culpability for Bush.

  5. You’re fast! I didn’t even notice until you did that! You must be the Annie Oakly of the blog moderators!

    CQ

  6. Wow, None, you voted for Nader? What an asshole you are.

    I voted for Gore and Kerry.

    NoBama.

  7. CQ – Giggle! This last one is too funny not to keep.

    Thanks for visiting!

  8. Shorter Madamab

    As a feminist, I’m commted to making sure a conservative majority sits on the Supreme Court.

  9. The Supreme Court already has a majority of conservative judges, None.

    But Obama will make sure I don’t get an abortion without talking to my pastor or my husband first. He will also determine, in his wisdom, whether I have enough physical reasons to get one, or whether I just want one because I’m feeling blue. He will make sure to vote “present” on any important legislature on choice, just like he did in the Illinois Senate. Finally, he will sit silent, just as he is doing now, while Bush redefines birth control as abortifacients. He will not lift a finger to help Hillary and Patty Murray fight this latest Bush administration horror.

    NoBama.

  10. ooooh barackula and Sen. Frist have so much in common 🙂

    And, we all know obama shouldn’t even be compared to anyone who actually works!! Hillary has done all she can, time to step off and let obozo try to pull the disenfranchised voters over to his side…..good luck….he will need it!

    Anyone want an idea of what looking presidential looks and sounds like…see Hillary Clinton.

    GO HILLARY!!

  11. republican in seattle

    Madame and the PUMAs, keep it up to insure that it’s high single digits loss for Obama. As we Rs in Washington State know all too well from 2004, if it’s not close, they can’t cheat. Don’t let it be close in November. 😉

  12. Heh, republican, are you talking to ME about election fraud?

    LOL! We are not going to agree on that issue. According to me, Bush stole both elections!

    We can call a truce where Obama is concerned, though. 😉

  13. republican in seattle

    LOL. Yes, we’ll disagree there and just leave that be. No, we have a woman here who was basically appointed to the governor spot through some serious fraud in mainly Seattle. And she’s horrible! Thing is, most of us didn’t have a problem with Gov Locke. You know, we’d like to see a R finally get control of governor after over 20 years of non-stop D rule, but he wasn’t a bad guy. But it’s clear from the polling that people are ticked off about the Queen. I bet if Obama had tapped Locke to be the running mate, you’d not only have seen WA and OR jumping up and down in excitement (although they are largely much of the unwashed brain dead Obamaniac masses here), but you would have had a pretty competent guy that could excite Asian Americans nationwide. Eh.

    Sorry to bring my local politics into your blog. But you know, you’re being so nice to me, me being an evil Republican and all.

    So, you never commented about it before when I mentioned her. Would Kathleen Sebelius have made PUMAs like you have fewer reservations about the nomination? Is there anyone else (aside from Hillary obviously) who would have been a nice peace offering? I’m very curious as obviously I come from a very different viewpoint and it’s always interesting to see how people analyze these issues.

  14. What you said, madamab!

  15. sister of ye

    The Obots like to yell that McCain would be so much worse than Obama, but they never say anything truthful about what’s different between them. Even one those occasions where Obama talks the talk, he never walks the walk on liberal values.

    Obama v McCain:

    – Against gay rights, including gay marriage? Check.

    – Against a woman’s right to make her own reproductive choice, including abortion? Check.

    – For war in SW Asia? Check – just in different countries.

    – For the goverment’s right to spy on you? Check.

    – For use American use of mercenaries? Check.

    – Against single-payer, universal healthcare? Check.

    And where Obama does claim to support liberal policies, how can we believe him after his betrayal of the Constitution re FISA?

  16. republican in seattle

    Madam (or anyone else):

    You seem to be concerned with caucus fraud from the primaries. But what about even the silly concept of superdelegates? Isn’t that something to be ticked about? All I seem to read is anger over the caucuses when it’s this attitude from the DNC that some people matter more than others (like Pelosi and crew) that got Obama over the top in the first place. I was watching and it was always about superdelegates declaring their allegiances back in March, April, and May.

    I’m just wondering, is there any sense of trying to reform the system so it really is democratic like your name sake? You know, like heaven forbid the party with that name actually acts like it just like the Republicans do. 😉 Ok, that was probably mean I admit, but Hillary would’ve been the nominee for sure if it hadn’t been for the supers, caucus fraud or not.

    Or, and that reminds me of a personal story. My MIL and FIL are (were?) big time Hillary supporters and went to their caucus when that was going on here back in Feb. Anyway, what was happening was the Obamaniacs were trying to shout her down. A 60 year old woman, and these 25 year olds who can’t remember anything of the 1990s even were trying to shout down this middle-aged verging on senior woman. She did make herself heard. I’m sure you guys would’ve been proud of her. I know I was. Of course all my ILs said back then after ranting about Obama’s pecadillos (much like you guys do) that if he gets the nomination they’ll have to just vote for him. That’s how stubborn they are against the mere thought of voting for a Republican, even the famous maverick himself (who wasn’t even my 10th choice and still rankles me as a true conservative). *sigh* I’m kind of doubting I’ll see an Obama sticker on their bumper like the Kerry sticker last time though.

  17. Republican – Yes, there is a huge desire on many of our parts for total reform of the Democratic primary system. In fact, I believe it should be one of the many goals of the PUMA movement post-Convention.

    I am a pretty radical thinker myself ;-). If you want to read my own thoughts on this matter, here is a link to a previous post regarding the issue.

    Sadly, your MIL’s awful experience was the norm in the caucuses. The OBots were all schooled in the same tactics, apparently.

    Sebelius was a no-go with most PUMAs I know. In fact, many of us thought suggesting her was an insult – as if women were interchangeable. Politically speaking, it was impossible for Obama not to pick Hillary if he wanted to unify the Party; yet he didn’t. That, if nothing else, shows Obama’s extreme unsuitedness for the job of CIC.

  18. republican I am also from Washington on the other side of the mountains and I voted for the Queen as you call her and I’m sorry to say I agree with you she has not lived up to expectations.

    I think pretty much everybody agrees we need election reform not just in the Democratic party but as a nation as well. There are far too many things open to underhanded tactics and mis-interpetation. It really should be straight-forward. One person, one vote doesn’t seem that dificult a concept but then again.

    Yes your MIL experienced the Obama Caucus Machine in action. There are even videos of training sessions where they instructed these jerks in how to thug a caucus. IMO thre is no reason for caucuses after the first one. It serves a purpouse to have a caucus start out the cycle and then it should just be primaries as caucuses are not only prone to that crap they also only represent an average of 3% of the population. Many disabled and senior citizens cannot go out to a caucus nor can many folks who are working during those times.

    I’m sure you know that in our state we had a primary which did not count at all and a caucus the difference in the margins Obama won by was big but he was awarded his delegates according to the caucus naturally to give him more of an advantage.

    CQ

  19. republican in seattle

    Interesting. See, I see Sebelius as a very strong politician in her own right. She has executive experience (Hillary does not nor does Obama or Biden or McCain obviously), she’s dealt not only with regular governor issues of budgeting and appointments but also with some disaster stuff and the clean up that has to happen, and that’s before any consideration of gender. I mean, she’d be a formidable foe for me if she were a man too. I try to judge on the whole of the person’s experience (that’s why Obama seems like such a cupcake IMO) and then I take into account gender and/or race as I know there are blocks of the electorate for whom that is the end all be all because they can’t be bothered to sit down and THINK about the issues. Eh.

    Caffeine, do you have a link to the training video stuff? I’d be very interested in checking that out.

  20. Republican – The point is that the person who got 18,000,000 votes should have been chosen as VP (well, should have won the nomination, but never mind). The excuse for that was, what?

    Think of it this way. If Mitt Romney had gotten only about 135 fewer pledged delegates than McCain, would McCain have chosen anyone but Romney as his VP? He would have honored the fact that millions of people voted for Romney and would have asked him to be on the ticket. It’s an absolute no-brainer.

    So, her qualifications were not the point. Asking anyone but Hillary was an insult, and picking a DIFFERENT woman would have been even more of one.

  21. republican;

    I’m looking for the link! I really should just save everything of interest to a notepad or something! Then I wouldn’t be forever looking for links I lost!

    CQ

  22. Republican – you make a lot of interesting points. I will absolutely agree with you on most of what you said.

    Our current governor is not great, you are so right. I didn’t think she was much as Attorney General. She will probably win with a greater majority this time because she has the same opponent, though. Not sure what can be done about it. I voted for her democratic opponent in the primary to make sure she got the message that even democrats would be fine seeing her replaced. Doubt she was paying attention to anything other than the word, “won”.

    Gary Locke was a dud of a governor, IMHO, and every democrat in my circle. He called Boeing on their bluff, and they moved HQ to Chicago. WA State didn’t like that one bit. No one I know would be overjoyed to see him rise to a level even higher than the incompetency level he has already achieved.

    The Super Delegates, in their behavior, their existence, and their continuation have been thoroughly discussed by the anti-DNC crowds this election season. The down-ticket dems who participated in the fiasco will be challenged for their seats as each re-election cycle comes around. McDermott, Inslee, Murray, and a few other Seattle area congressmen/women stayed with Hillary and would have voted for her at convention had the roll call not been such a farce. I would have included Cantwell, but after her appearance at the convention, I’m not so sure. She’s not as solid in her convictions as Patty Murray is.

    I heard Hillary speak in front of a group at convention where she said the primary selection process, and other related topics will be a big focus for her once the GE season is over. Maybe part of her deal with Obama was that she would be the leader of the party if he doesn’t win the election.

    Thanks for your observations. All really great points.

  23. Hey Javacity! Another Washintonian! And another anti-BO Dem! It’s a small world huh?

    CQ

  24. It is a small world…Washingtonians are very active on the political blogs 🙂 TalkLeft, particularly was full of them. We’ve been asked to either join the followers or leave if we must continue to be negative about the ticket. I’m in the Edmonds area.

  25. My hubby has relatives there! I’m on the east side of the state. You know the part we call high desert country. Eyes rolling.

    CQ

  26. republican in seattle

    “Think of it this way. If Mitt Romney had gotten only about 135 fewer pledged delegates than McCain, would McCain have chosen anyone but Romney as his VP? He would have honored the fact that millions of people voted for Romney and would have asked him to be on the ticket. It’s an absolute no-brainer.”

    I don’t know about that. I mean, Dick Cheney didn’t run for Prez at all. And I don’t remember Dan Quayle being in 2nd or 3rd position in the primaries of 1988, but I was also a sophomore in HS and not paying close attention. I haven’t checked the news, but I know that while Romney has a good chance at the VP nod, he’s got a lot of baggage that McCain would have to take into consideration. For starters, a lot of the Christian base do have trouble with him being a Mormon. (I’m not one of them, but I have to acknowledge that nonetheless.) Plus, he’s got some issues with doing some state run health care stuff with MA during his term there that doesn’t exactly win with the base either. Then again, McCain could generally give two shits about the base and generally does whatever the heck he feels like and to hell with the rest of us who still stand by the President. I don’t feel like getting into any arguments about that. Just like you guys unabashedly think Bill Clinton was a wonderful President (and I laugh every time I read that), I very much believe our current President will eventually be remembered as being a decent President in very turbulent times — that is once there’s enough time for a lot of the current media whores and liberal professors retire or die out. (I expect you all to laugh now in turn. LOL.)

    As for my fellow Washingtonians, I think Dino has been gaining pretty good traction against the Queen. There are enough people who are so thoroughly fed up with her and her massive corruption that I even frequently come across people who voted for her in 2004 who are switching to Dino. As far as I could ever tell, she seemed to be respected in the AG role, but man, every time I see her face I can just feel my blood pressure boiling. She MUST go down and go down hard. And her precious Obama must too. Out here in the east side of King, there aren’t very many signs for the Queen. It’s all Dino. And it’s probably an even spread McCain and Obama here too FWIW. It’s early yet, but still, there’s hope.

  27. republican in seattle

    I keep forgetting to say it’s been a lot of fun talking to you all the last couple days. I feel like I finally have liberals who I can talk to without getting cursed out or something. Trust me, this is a very difficult thing to find. LOL.

  28. Republican – It has been my pleasure! My days of demonizing fellow voters are GONE. I am ashamed that I ever fell into that trap. In fact, I am going to write a post on that very soon.

    But rest assured, it’s difficult to find Republicans who are open-minded enough to reach out to us liberals, as well. Rush has convinced a lot of you that we eat Christian babies for lunch! LOL Thank goodness you know that’s not true.

    I prefer them for dessert.

    😉

  29. Republican – It has become increasingly more difficult to find a fellow democrat who will speak to us with such respect, and define their point of view so we can get a glimpse of what is driving their opinions. You are a refreshing change from the style of conversation that has been taking place among those who consider themselves good Democrats. In fact, after yesterday’s explosion of idiots against Sarah Palin, I’m embarrassed to be associated with the D party. Starting to feel more like a Republican these days.

    Christine G as AG cost the state tens of millions in a labor dispute because she failed to file the proper responses in time. She wasn’t real good at accepting where the buck stopped. Her current campaign is showing what this country would have every right to claim as out and out “whining”. I’m not at all impressed with what I’m hearing about the solution to the 520 bridge replacement.

    Best governor this state ever had was Dan Evans. Even the democrats thought he was great.