Personal Reasons?

Woooohoooo!

Woooohoooo!

Wow. What a stunner!

Caroline Kennedy has told Gov. David Paterson that she is withdrawing her name from consideration to replace outgoing Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton in the U.S. Senate, The Post has learned. 

Kennedy cited “personal reasons,” according to sources.

Her stunning move comes as sources revealed that Paterson had intended to appoint her to the now-vacant seat today.

Really.  He was going to appoint her and she withdrew for “personal reasons?”

Something is, um, a little off about that story. Don’t you think?

The New York Post has a slightly different take on it, which I somehow find a tad more realistic:

Caroline Kennedy tonight withdrew her name from consideration to replace Hillary Clinton in the U.S. Senate after learning that Gov. David Paterson wasn’t going to choose her, The Post has learned.

Kennedy’s decision removes the highest-profile name in the ring to step into Clinton’s now-vacant seat, as she departs after getting confirmed today as President Obama’s Secretary of State.

Sources said the reason Paterson had decided not to tap the daughter of John F. Kennedy was her poor performances in media interviews and in in private sessions with various officials.

That makes a lot more sense to me. You know?

Personally, I believe that Governor Paterson was never going to appoint her. I believe that he was paying attention to the fact that the people of his state did not want her as their Senator. I certainly hope that’s the case, because that would show that he was not intending to cave in to the massive pressure from Caroline’s Uncle Ted, President Obama and Mayor Mike Bloomberg.

So today, we have two reasons to be happy: Hillary became our next Secretary of State, and there is a very good chance that another qualified woman will be appointed to her Senate seat, instead of an arrogant, entitled and totally inexperienced Obot who did everything she could to undermine Senator Clinton during the primaries.

As for Caroline, I do hope she “spends more time with her family.” As we know, Ted Kennedy collapsed during the inauguration yesterday, and was briefly in the hospital. Our thoughts and prayers are with him, and I’m sure he will appreciate the company.

P.S. I’ve been tagged by three different bloggers! Okay, okay, here are six random facts about me:

1) I found my first grey hair at the age of 20.

2) I have an African-American stepmother who ran Barack Obama’s campaign in Prince William County, VA.

3) My favorite color is purple.

4) I’m addicted to books. I read at least one a week, sometimes two.

5) My great-aunt is a prolific and talented painter.

6) I have the same first name as one First Lady, and the same middle name as a different First Lady.

I’m not tagging anyone else, dammit – they’ve all been tagged already!

:-)

2 responses to “Personal Reasons?

  1. “1” BATTLE DOWN
    “1” MORE TO GO.
    IT’S BEEN GREAT TO TEAM UP WITH YOU ON THIS

  2. garychapelhill

    fox news says that paterson picked Kristin Gillibrand.