John McCain and The Thirty Percent Solution

A PUMA Roar of Approval for John McCain
A PUMA Roar of Approval for John McCain

Oh my God. I am speechless.

Hillbuzz has posted a flyer that McCain and Palin are distributing in Pennsylvania. Here is the link.

Note the following text from one of the flyers (scroll down a bit to see it):

I share Senator Clinton’s goal of promoting women to more important roles in government. By the end of my first term, I promise you will see a dramatic increase in the presence of women in every part of the government. You have my word on it.

When Barack Obama was asked by Hillary Clinton’s supporters if he would make a similar promise, he said no.

Senator Obama has shown nothing but contempt and scorn for Hillary Clinton and her voters. He thinks he can win without us, and to prove his obstinacy and lack of respect for her and what she represented, he refused to even vet her for the Vice Presidency and took every opportunity to spread the most disgusting lies about her and her husband.

John McCain, however, is committed to to advancing the 30% Solution, whether he calls it that or not. He had the courage to pick a female Vice President whom he knew would be subject to the same virulent misogyny that Hillary endured. He pays his female staff more than his male staff.

Between these two candidates, who has exemplified a more feminist attitude?

I know that many women are terrified that McPalin will overturn Roe v. Wade as a nod to their evangelical base. With a 58-vote Democratic majority in the Senate, how will McCain get an anti-choice Justice on the Supreme Court? And should the attempt actually be made to overturn settled law, there would be a 50-million woman march, in which I would participate. Women, at this point in our history, would never consent to such an assault on our reproductive rights.

If you are a woman voting for Obama, I truly, truly beg you to reconsider. Barack Obama does not give a shit about you or your interests. Nothing AT ALL is going to change for women if he becomes the next President; the candidate himself is now stating that it will take at least 1000 days for anything substantial to be done (that’s three years, for the mathematically challenged.)

On the other hand, we have McCain’s guarantee that the opposite would be true if he is elected on Tuesday.

Let’s see. Obama promises me nothing, treats women like garbage, and offers me nothing except (if we believe Joe Biden!) an international crisis if elected; McCain promises me substantial advancement for women, and has already begun to deliver on that promise by choosing a female Vice President.

I know who’s got my vote, because I am a feminist, and I believe that the time to vote for men who hate women has passed.

PUMA POWER!!!

Cross-posted at Partizane

13 responses to “John McCain and The Thirty Percent Solution

  1. Great piece and how about that campaign promise. Yeeeeaaaah!

  2. I got that flyer yesterday. I’m so thrilled with it — keeping it as a souvenir.

  3. I’m not so sure about nothing at all changing for women under BO.

    He’s been making lots of under the radar noises about how nice it is to have faith-based government involvement.

    About how women should be making abortion decisions only “consultation” with pastors (presumably male) and other real people.

    I’ve heard he pays women on his campaign staff 75% of what men get paid. I believe the national average is now near or above 80%.

    So I think things might change. For the worse.

  4. Have you posted this yet at Partizane? purdy pleeeeez

    P.S. I lurv you, madmab. :)

  5. Nice piece….John McCain looks better and better every damn day!!

  6. I followed Obama’s glass ceiling advice that women consult our doctors, spiritual counsel and other loved ones on important PRIVATE decisions.

    Well on this one, I did. ALL of those women agreed that Obama and his misogynistic buddies can FO into the sunset and come back when they know what equal rights means.

  7. Someone’s listening and it isn’t Obama.

  8. Tell your friends, and show them the proof.

    Adolf Hitler was well-known to have used hypnosis on crowds to gain power in Germany. (Just Google it if you doubt it.) So why cant this happen in America? It is happening.

    Now, this document, An Examination of Obama’s Use of Hidden Hypnosis Techniques in His Speeches is really spreading. Many people, including young people, are starting to wake up.

    Young people have come up with a saying, “Don’t drink the kool-aid Obama is pushing on you.”

    Obama has no accomplishments, we don’t know him, he wrote a memoir, he has racist connections, he is using hypnosis, and he thinks he’s the Messiah and that he should be in control of the world. We’ve seen this story before in Germany in the 1930′s, haven’t we? We know what happened there.

    Obama’s use of hypnosis in speeches is why:
    -nothing sticks to him
    -the huge crowds
    -the huge money contributions
    -the mesmerized effect, especially in young people, who, because of their imaginations are more susceptible to hypnosis (read the document)
    -the exorbitant election fraud, rule-breaking and bias in the media
    -he gets away with changing every position
    -people are calling him the “greatest leader of a generation” with no accomplishments

    You have to read this document to understand how his hypnosis works. Logically and rationally, why not get to know this guy a little more before handing the world over to him? Why not wait?

    An Examination of Obama’s use of Hidden Hypnosis Techniques in His Speeches can be found at

    PS – “Dont drink Obama’s Kool-Aid”

  9. Pingback: My Voting Strategy « Oooh, nuance!

  10. Pingback: My Voting Strategy « The Confluence

  11. Oh, I’m glad to have found some old TL commenters – so this is where you all went!

    dr molly

  12. McCain/Palin is the ticket for true feminists. McCain has far more respect for women than Obama. Obama’s considering that guy, Larry Summers for Treasury Secretary-a male who abuses his academic position and insults half the human race by peddling lies that women’s brains are genetically inferior. I had a teacher in high school who said that kind of stuff and it took me 4 years to disabuse him of that notion, but I did. I made a point to encourage my daughter in math and science and she was top 10 for four years in the tests of educational development in her large high school.

  13. Pingback: The Home Stretch: The Power of Withholding « Oooh, nuance!